2021 Board of Directors Slate

2021 PRSA Rochester Board of Directors Slate Announcement

The PRSA Rochester Chapter and its 2021 Nominating Committee for the Board of Directors (B.O.D.) announces its formal slate of candidates for potential incoming positions in 2021. The board is also updating the PRSA Rochester membership on new measures voted on for the incoming year to help ensure a smooth transition of board positions.

Proposed Measures
At the end of 2020, the leaders of the organization began to put together an interim plan of action that would ensure the continued success of the organization during these uncertain times. In our commitment to move the organization forward, the Board of Directors voted on two proposals in January 2021 that affect the makeup of the board slate.

Proposal 1. (noted below) was enacted to allow current board members to extend retiring terms by one year, in the event that these open positions were unable to be filled by current PRSA Rochester members. The proposal read:

Proposal 1. To extend the board terms for a temporary period of one year for current positions to ensure continuity and a smooth transition in 2021.

Proposal 2. was enacted to continue the transfer of leadership from the former 2020 PRSA Rochester president to the new 2021 PRSA Rochester president. This was done in accordance with our current bylaws, noting the succession of power from President-Elect, to President, to Past-President. The proposal read:

Proposal 2. To enact a transfer of power from former president to current president in 2021.

Both motions were carried unanimously by the board.

Open Positions
The 2021 Board Slate of Officers includes two open Director-at-Large positions available for interested parties, one leading the PRism Committee and a second leading Nominating/Diversity/APR. Those who wish to apply for the positions can contact 2021 PRSA President Melissa Greco-Lopes at [email protected] for more information.

2021 Proposed Slate of Officers
The current slate of new and returning officers can be found below. In accordance with our bylaws, this slate will be available for 30 days, during which time others may also place themselves on this ballot.

President-Elect: Nadine General (three-year term)

As Managing Partner, Communications at Dixon Schwabl Nadine General oversees the public relations division, develops and executes comprehensive public relations strategies and campaigns for a variety of clients, and manages the internal communications at the agency. She also has an extensive crisis communications background and leads the crisis management and consulting services at the agency. Before joining Dixon Schwabl in 2010, she served on the American Red Cross’ Advanced Public Affairs team where she deployed to support national disaster services and crisis communications. General served on the PRSA board in 2020 as Director-At-Large for Nominating/Diversity/APR. She has been active in the Chapter for many years as co-chair of the diversity committee and a member since 2004.

Director-At-Large Membership: Kristin Tutino (extended one-year term)

Kristin Tutino has worked for Rochester’s public media organization, WXXI, for more than a decade, serving as its station publicist. Kristin has been a member of PRSA since 2003 and has been active in the chapter for many years. She has served on both the Programming Committee and the PRism committee and currently chairs the Membership Committee.

Assembly Delegate #1: Michelle Cometa (extended one-year term)

For the past several years, Michelle has been a senior communications specialist with RIT’s University Communications team, part of the larger Marketing and Communications Division at Rochester Institute of Technology. Its emphasis is on providing coverage of campus news—people, events, research initiatives and crisis communications support. Michelle covers two ‘beats’—the College of Engineering Technology and the Kate Gleason College of Engineering—providing news coverage and PR for both. Michelle has been a longtime member of the Public Relations Society of America (since 1996), and held Rochester chapter positions leading the membership, PRism Awards and district conference sub-committees as well as serving as chapter president. Today she represents the chapter at the PRSA National Assembly and is former treasurer for the Northeast district.

Assembly Delegate #2: Bobbi Lonobile (extended one-year term)

Marking 30 years this year as a member of PRSA, Bobbi is a retired PR and marketing communications executive. A graduate of SUNY Geneseo, she has held leadership roles in health care, higher education, nonprofit, and travel and tourism. Bobbi has served on the Rochester PRSA board as membership chair, has been active helping members and others to advance their careers in PR, worked on the PRism Awards, program committee for the annual Northeast District conference and has served as assembly delegate for the past six years, among other roles. Winner of several PRism Awards, she has also received a Bronze Anvil given by PRSA National for media relations, and in 2019 the Sharleen M. Bruse Award given by the Rochester Chapter.

Ethics Chair: Ruth Harper-Rhode (extended one-year term)

Ruth Harper-Rhode is a Communications Associate at the University of Rochester Medical Center. Her responsibilities include handling social media, internal communications and media relations for the Wilmot Cancer Institute. She also assists Wilmot's Advancement team with promoting fundraising events, such as the Wilmot Warrior Walk. Ruth joined PRSA in 2013 and volunteered on the planning committee for the 2014 PRSA Northeast District Conference held in Rochester. She has also been part of the PRSA programming and communications committees.

For any questions, please contact the PRSA Board:

Melissa Greco-Lopes, [email protected]  
Sarah Blackwell, [email protected]
Michelle Cometa, [email protected]