PRSA Rochester Celebrates Excellence in Public Relations at 2016 PRism Awards

PRSA Rochester Celebrates Excellence in Public Relations at 2016 PRism Awards
Causewave and Text100 win Best in Show

Contact: Emily Drzewiecki, 585-331-9573
PRSA Rochester
Chapter PRism Committee

Rochester, N.Y., June 16, 2016 – Today the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), Rochester chapter hosted its annual PRism Awards, presented by PR Newswire. The ceremony honors excellence in the public relations industry. Nearly 250 professionals from Rochester advertising agencies, public relations firms, colleges, corporations and nonprofits attended the event emceed by Don Alhart, the legendary 13WHAM-TV anchor, and his son, Jon Alhart, vice president of social and digital media at Dixon Schwabl.

The duo presented awards in over 30 categories ranging from media relations initiatives, creative works, digital campaigns and special events. In total, 52 first-place PRism awards and 42 second-place Awards of Excellence were presented in the corporate and not-for-profit categories.

Causewave Community Partners took home the Not-for-Profit Best of Show award for the successful rebranding of its own organization. Text100 won the Corporate Best of Show award on behalf of client Xerox Corp., for elevating its health care brand at a large international health information tradeshow.

“The PRism awards show is the highlight of the year for many PR professionals in our area,” said James Mignano, PRSA Rochester chapter president. “Our chapter hosts one of the top PRSA award shows in the northeast, which is a testament to our outstanding membership and the industry’s continued growth here in Rochester.”

The following organizations also took home the most first-place PRism awards:

  •         Martino Flynn, LLC – 15 PRisms
  •         Dixon Schwabl – 9 PRisms
  •         University of Rochester Medical Center – 4 PRisms
  •         Carestream Health – 3 PRisms
  •         Rochester Institute of Technology – 3 PRisms
  •         Excellus BlueCross BlueShield – 3 PRisms
  •         Text100 – 2 PRisms
  •         Nazareth College – 2 PRisms

The following professionals also received individual awards:

  •         Executive of the Year: Gerard J. Rooney, Ph.D., president of St. John Fisher College
  •         Rising Star: Ryann Bouchard, public relations manager of Dixon Schwabl

For the full list of winners, go to