Student Scholarships

About the Charles S. Smith Scholarship

In honor of former president of the Rochester PRSA chapter and Bruse award winner, Charlie Smith, who sadly passed away in November 2007 to a courageous battle with cancer, PRSA Rochester launched the "Charles S. Smith Scholarship." It was Charlie's dedication to young people in the public relations profession that earned him this honor.

He served as a mentor to many young professionals and willingly shared his knowledge at several conferences and professional development events. He also donated his own funds so that others would have the chance to attend PR conferences and events that otherwise could not afford it. Throughout his career, Charlie took an interest in the PR practitioners starting out and students, seeing it as a way to foster the future of the profession and the Rochester Chapter.

Charlie's legacy and commitment to the public relations profession lives on through this scholarship fund. Per Charlie's wishes, scholarships from this fund will be awarded to members of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSSA), enabling them to attend public relations conferences.

To submit your application, make a donation to the scholarship fund or for more information, please contact PRSA Rochester at info (at) prsarochester (dot) org.

Thank you for your continued support.

Charles S. Smith Scholarship Guidelines
Charles S. Smith Scholarship Application

Past Charles S. Smith Scholarship Winners

  • Fall 2016 - Olivia Rotondo, St. John Fisher College
  • Fall 2015 - Laura DeMartino, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Fall 2014 - Jaclyn Bergin, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Fall 2013 - Claire Owen Schubnell, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Fall 2012 - Jenna Deutsch, Rochester Institute of Technology  
  • Spring 2012 - Chyna Trible, Rochester Institute of Technology 
  • Fall 2011 - LisaMarie Gaeta, Rochester Institute of Technology  
  • Spring 2011 - Renee Johnson, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Fall 2010 - Gina Muoio, St. John Fisher College
  • Spring 2010 - Alecia Crawford, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Fall 2009 - Danielle DuPree, Utica College
  • Spring 2009 - Matthieu Schwert, St. John Fisher College
  • Fall 2008 - David Baker, St. John Fisher College