PRSA Rochester Chapter Sharleen M. Bruse Award

The Sharleen M. Bruse Award will not be issued in 2020. The award will resume in 2021.

Any member of the PRSA Rochester Chapter may be nominated for the Chapter’s highest honor, the Sharleen M. Bruse Memorial Award.

The Chapter established the award in honor of Sharleen M. Bruse, a former Chapter board member, to recognize members who help advance the career development of other Chapter members and who are active in community service. 

Sharleen Bruse was a longtime member of PRSA who served several years on the board. She was a mentor to many young professionals and gave freely of her time and expertise to community efforts. Her unexpected death in 1990 came less than one year after she retired as executive director of Cancer Action. The PRSA Rochester Chapter established the award to honor Sharleen’s memory.

Candidates for the Sharleen M. Bruse award must have: 

  • A minimum of 15 years experience in public relations, although this is not an absolute number
  • Attained a high level of professional achievement
  • Provided service to the profession including mentoring and PRSA involvement
  • Considerable involvement in community service
  • Be a member of the Rochester Chapter of PRSA

A panel of PRSA past presidents, the current president and president-elect, and other current board members will review the pool of nominees. The panel has the option of not selecting a recipient in a given year. If a recipient is selected, the award will be presented at the PRism Awards.